Exercise Songs for Preschool Children Part 1

10/28/2015 12:22

Do you remember the summer holidays at your aunt’s country house? Or, the summer school with cold pools to refresh? Back then, life was simple and at its best. Today, our children are deprived of all the simple joy that we got to enjoy back in our time. From outdated outdoor playground equipment  to less than appropriate community parks, nothing is the way it used to be. I was sifting through some old rhyme books that me and my sister used to have when we were growing up and I stumbled upon some of the most interesting exercise songs. Our parents would play the tapes of these songs or sing a cappella while we, kids, would dance. So, here are some of the songs that were a great way to exercise for us.

Hear Me Sing; Watch Me Dance

Hear me sing; watch me dance;
I do either when I get the chance
Watch my dance or hear my song;
Everyone will follow along
(Everyone will follow along)

Sing real low with your voice (Sing real low with your voice);
Singing high is my choice (Singing high is my choice)
Twist your body, twist around; (Twist your body, twist around)
Move your body up and down (Move your body up and down)

Hear me sing; watch me dance;
I do either when I get the chance
Watch my dance or hear my song;
Everyone will follow along
(Everyone will follow along)

I make my voice stop and go; (I make my voice stop and go)
Sing real fast – then sing slow (Sing real fast – then sing slow)
Get a partner step side to side; (Get a partner step side to side)
Move your feet; do the slide (Move your feet; do the slide)

I can sing like Englishmen. (I can sing like Englishmen)
I sing in Espanol. Que bien. (I sing in Espanol. Que bien)
I do the Pogo! (I do the Pogo!)
I can spin. Round & round I go! (I can spin. Round & round I go!)

Show us something else to do.
Sing or dance; We’ll do it, too.

I can stamp my feet this way. (I can stamp my feet this way)
I can make my body sway. (I can make my body sway)
Get your arms, put them up high (Get your arms, put them up high)
Wave your hands and say goodbye (Wave your hands and say goodbye)
Goodbye!

Move Your Arms

Move it, move it make your body move
Move it, move it, movin’ is cool

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms
 

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms
Move one leg
 

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms 
Move one leg, move the other leg
 

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms
Move one leg, move the other leg
Move your hips
 

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms 
Move one leg, move the other leg
Move your hips, move down low
 

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms 
Move one leg, move the other leg
Move your hips, move down low
Move your head
 

Add on another move
Move one arm, move two arms 
Move one leg, move the other leg
Move your hips, move down low
Move your head, turn around
 

These songs can actually allow kids to have much more exercise than they get on a commercial playground equipment or any other play structure for that matter. Get them off the couch and enjoy these songs with your kids for a good physical workout.